Help The Candle Lab after the Grandview fire, this Tuesday night (2/3), 7 – 9pm

by

[Update, 2/1: This event was postponed on 1/27 due to the snow!  We have rescheduled it for this Tuesday, 2/3.  Come out!]

[Note: There’s a chance this might be rescheduled so it doesn’t conflict with the COSI Tweetup (thanks for the heads-up @Irene_ExpCols).  What do you think?  Please weigh in.]

[Update, 1/21, 11:45am: This isn’t going to be rescheduled.  Make it happen and come to both, if you can.]

Here’s the deal.

A BUNCH of local businesses were affected by last Saturday’s by the fire in Grandview a couple weeks ago.

There are still a lot of unknowns at this point, in terms of who is going to need what, but one thing’s for sure: people are going to need some help.  From us (you and me).

My hope is that we’ll have a coordinated effort underway soon to help ALL the businesses involved, in a meaningful, responsible way.

And that there will be plenty of opportunities to do so.

Until then, however, if you’re looking for a way to help, here’s one fun, social way you can:

Pour Your Own.  Then Have Them Pour One For You.

When: Tuesday (2/3), from 7 – 19 pm

Where: The Candle Lab (Worthington location) + House Wine

What: Lounge in the Lab after hours, get to know Steve and Katesha, pour your own custom candle, then, while the wax cools, step next door and enjoy a glass of vino.

How much it’ll cost: $16 (one candle + one glass of wine.)

Why: Because you care.

Never been to The Candle Lab before?  Now’s the time.  Already a Lab member?  Share your love.  (Didn’t know you could become a member?  Come hither.)

Bring your spouse.  Bring your BFF.  Bring a neighbor.  Invite your twitter and Facebook friends.  Come show some love.

Here’s a map.

If you’re coming, maybe RSVP in the comments, if you want.

[Note: Since this is about supporting local businesses in their time of need, not tools, it’s worth mentioning that being on twitter isn’t a prerequisite for joining us, and neither is blogging or being on facebook, etc. OK?]

Tags: , , , ,

27 Responses to “Help The Candle Lab after the Grandview fire, this Tuesday night (2/3), 7 – 9pm”

  1. Ryan Says:

    Jamo and me (@slimgoodies).

  2. Erica Says:

    I’ll be there (@noelclarington) with the hubs David (@suprdave).

    We live right down the street from the fires and want to do anything we can to help!

  3. Mary Wehrle Says:

    Would prefer that you change the date. I would love to be able to support these businesses but I don’t want to miss the COSI tweet up.

  4. Irene Alvarez Says:

    The EC crew is made up of some seriously booked people, so I’d never say change it so we can make it. But, I do know many of us are RSVP’d to be at COSI on the evening of 1/27.

  5. madebyamyd Says:

    I’d say leave as is, since it’s already scheduled. I’m coming!

  6. Ryan Says:

    It’s been posited that since the COSI Tweetup starts earlier (5:30) industrious folks could make both…

    (Some people have confirmed they’re doing that.)

    How about EVERYONE from COSI just come to the Lab, after?

  7. bayinghound Says:

    Bah! @alex_baillieul is leaving the 27th for England. I think my daughter would have serious abandonment issues if I left her with a sitter the same night. 😦

  8. Anna Says:

    I think we’re going to hit up both the COSI event and this one. So count me (@aharperhess) and my husband (@hesster56) in!

    FYI, I also run the Crimson Cup Twitter (@crimsoncup)

  9. Emily Says:

    I’m doin’ both! This is a great idea. You’re so good to your peeps Slim. 🙂

  10. Linky linky « AmyD Says:

    […] recently took out some businesses, so maybe you would consider helping them out and going to this shindig.  Ryan is great at throwing a lively group together.  While you’re there at his blog, check […]

  11. Jim Coe Says:

    Sharon Levy @sharon124 and Jim Coe @jim1coe will be present.

  12. Jenny Says:

    Count us in for 2, Great idea! Thank you for putting it together!

  13. Alvin Says:

    I’m doing COSI and will be taking my kids. Sorry I can’t make it to this one, but after COSI I’ve gotta get them off to bed. Thanks Slim for doing good for local business.

  14. curiouserx2 Says:

    I definitely intend to stop by, and I’ll be sure to post this event on the blog: http://www.curiouserx2.wordpress.com

    All my best to all of you,
    ~a

  15. Erika and Jack Says:

    We will be there…with some other Grandview residents…to support the cause!

  16. Katie Thomas Says:

    I will be there! @ktthomas

  17. Kristen Vitartas Says:

    I’ll be there! @kvitartas

  18. amy Says:

    local yokel here is coming! xo

  19. bayinghound Says:

    You talked me into it. I will be there with a 3 year old. Probably can’t stay for the wine.

  20. The Columbus Experience » Blog Archive » Much tweeting up in Columbus this Tuesday Says:

    […] has been organized by Columbus local Ryan Morgan to help support them. He’s taking RSVPs here […]

  21. Kendra Says:

    My husband and I would love to help out our new neighbors in Grandview and meet some new friends in the process! We’ll try and be there after the COSI tweetup.

  22. Brian Says:

    Will try to make it after the COSI event if I can put the sedan into turbo mode and make it from downtown to Worthington in finite time.

    Keep an eye out for those Worthington police! They work on commission 🙂

  23. Brian Says:

    Will be bringing the video cam and will feature the videos on the http://socialwatch.com site. See you there!

  24. Kristen Says:

    @kvitartas and @ktthomas will be there tomorrow night!

  25. Julie Castell Says:

    I live one block away from the fires and am a G’View Candle Lab member. Katesha is great. I feel for them so I will be there with bells on!

  26. Brian Says:

    Glad it got rescheduled. Hope to make it tonight!

    Thanks @slimgoodies for putting this together.

  27. Tonight, at Candlelab! « AmyD Says:

    […] February 3, 2009 · No Comments I’m leaving the house after dark!  Come to this […]

Leave a Reply

